

MembershipWhat's HappeningCommitteesPublicationsAssembly CommissionGeneral InfoJob OpportunitiesHelp

**10 OCTOBER 2007** 

**COFMDFM 07/07** 

## APPOINTMENT OF VICTIMS COMMISSIONER -COMMITTEE WELCOMES PROGRESS

The Committee for the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister welcomed today's announcement regarding the Appointment of a Victims Commissioner.

The Chairperson Mr Danny Kennedy said:

"Grave concerns have been expressed by members of the Committee regarding the lack of progress in appointing a Victims Commissioner and the Committee has been pressing the First Minister and Deputy First Minister for urgent action on this matter. The Committee is therefore pleased to see that progress is at last being made in taking this very important appointment forward."

"The Committee will await with interest the outcome of the revised process and will be monitoring the situation carefully to ensure that the timescale for the appointment in December is met and no further slippage is allowed to occur."

Notes for editors

The Committee for the Office of First Minister and Deputy First Minister is one of the statutory committees established by the Northern Ireland Assembly on 9 May 2007.

A motion was approved in the Assembly on Tuesday 12 June 2007 proposing that the committee's name be changed from the Committee of the Centre to the Committee for the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister.

The role of the Committee as set out in Standing Orders for the Northern Ireland Assembly is "to advise and assist the First Minister and the deputy First Minister in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within their responsibilities as Ministers jointly in charge of the Office of First Minister and Deputy First Minister."

Committee Membership: -Danny Kennedy, Chairperson Naomi Long, Deputy Chairperson Martina Anderson Tom Elliott Dolores Kelly Barry McElduff Francie Molloy Stephen Moutray Jim Shannon Jimmy Spratt Jim Wells

All enquiries regarding the work of the Committee should be directed to the Committee Clerk: - Christine Darrah

Room 242, Parliament Buildings

Tel: 028 9052 1629

Media enquiries should be addressed to the Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office: - Room B2, Parliament Buildings Stormont, Belfast BT4 3XX

Tel: 028 9052 1137

 $\underline{HomeToday's\ BusinessQuestionsOfficial\ ReportLegislationSite\ MapLinksFeedbackSearch}$