CAIN Web Service

Details of Westminster Parliamentary Constituencies

[Key_Events] [KEY_ISSUES] [Conflict_Background]
POLITICS: [Menu] [Reading] [Articles] [Government] [Political_Initiatives] [Political_Solutions] [Parties] [Elections] [Polls] [Sources] [Peace_Process]

Research: Fionnuala McKenna
Material is added to this site on a regular basis - information on this page may change

The following is a list of the 18 electoral constituencies in Northern Ireland. For each constituency, information is provided on the number and names of wards and the size of the electorate in 1995.
Source: Great Britain. Boundary Commission for Northern Ireland. Fourth periodical report on Parliamentary constituencies and second supplementary report on the number of members to be returned to the Northern Ireland Assembly by each of those constituencies. London: HMSO, 1995

East Antrim (county constituency)
North Antrim (county constituency)
South Antrim (county constituency)
Belfast East (borough constituency)
Belfast North (borough constituency)
Belfast South (borough constituency)
Belfast West (borough constituency)
North Down (county constituency)
South Down (county constituency)
Fermanagh and South Tyrone (county constituency)
Foyle (county constituency)
Lagan Valley (county constituency)
East Londonderry (county constituency)
Mid Ulster (county constituency)
Newry and Armagh (county constituency)
Strangford (county constituency)
West Tyrone (county constituency)
Upper Bann (county constituency)

CAIN contains information and source material on the conflict and politics in Northern Ireland.
CAIN is based within Ulster University.

go to the top of this page go to the top of this page
Last modified :