CAIN Web Service

Assembly By-election (NI) - Thursday 20 June 1974

[Key_Events] [KEY_ISSUES] [Conflict_Background]
POLITICS: [Menu] [Reading] [Articles] [Government] [Political_Initiatives] [Political_Solutions] [Parties] [ELECTIONS] [Polls] [Sources] [Peace_Process]

Text and Research: Fionnuala McKenna
Material is added to this site on a regular basis - information on this page may change

Assembly By-election (NI)
Thursday 20 June 1974


The following are the (draft) results of the Northern Ireland Assembly by-election held in the constituency of North Antrim on Thursday 20 June 1974. The voting in this election was by means of 'proportional representation'.

Summary of Results

Quota: 24,069
Electorate: 104,168
Percentage turnout: 46.7

First Count:

Smyth, A. C. (Democratic Unionist Party - United Ulster Unionist Coalition)
Party Candidates
First Preference Votes
Turnly, J. (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Agnew, Dr. Iris (Pro-Assembly Unionist)
Fawcett, J. (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)

Smyth (DUP-UUUC) was elected on the first count.

CAIN contains information and source material on the conflict and politics in Northern Ireland.
CAIN is based within Ulster University.

go to the top of this page go to the top of this page
Last modified :